7/16/16

so basically my parents yell at me a lot and it’s not just them , like obviously they have a reason….well sometimes it’s things i do but more than not it’s just because i’m the only one who lives here other than them and i’m kind of like the “bad seed” of the family even though i didn’t really do anything to deserve it. it’s just kind of been like this my whole life.

but anyways, tonights installment is a situation that happened because my mother was trying to talk to me about something as she walked into my room, saw that i was busy , and even after i told her i was doing  something and i could talk later, proceeded to engage in a conversation where she would accuse me of doing something that i didn’t do and claimed that she knew i was doing whatever she was accusing me of without any real evidence. so of course i was upset and crying and yelling because no one likes to be treated like that. my father heard the conversation and attempted to involve himself even though what we were talking about did not concern him (btw the conversation was about my body and like ok yes that does not involve you father please back the fuck off). anyways, he then tried to yell at me about being disrespectful and not yelling. such a hypocrite. i went back into my room and literally stayed isolated for almost 6 hours and din’t say one word to either of them or try and go back and confront them. i’m siting here studying for my two midterms coming up and receive this e-mail, yes an e-mail from my father.

“For some reason, not sure what, you believe that it is acceptable for you to simply try to talk over me while I’m talking to you. I assure you that it is not. But, since you do, I’m writing to you so that you are aware of what I will not tolerate from you and how it will be handled, by me anyways, while you are living in this house.

You are 18 years old and I am no longer legally required to provide for you.  As such, if you continue to behave in the manner that you do, it will eventually lead to you being asked to leave. It’s unfortunate, but I’m tired of your outbursts and total lack of respect for your mother and me.  If it were just up to me, you would have 30 days from today before you would be evicted. Be glad you have the mother that you do, because even after your tantrums, she’s willing to give you additional chances.

Consequences of your disrespectful rants will start with removal of driving privileges. A week for first rant; two weeks for second; and so on. If you still do not get in line and start behaving like an adult, then you will be given 30 days notice to find another place to live.

Regrettably it has come to this, but your total disregard for common respect and courtesy has led to this action”

first of all, dad, why are you e-mailing me when i’m literally right down the hall? (he sent it to the e-mail i had that i used in 7th grade, shows how much my father actually knows about me aka nothing)

So, because I’m pretty sure if I actually responded to this…….well bad things would happen but like lol at this point I have no idea.

I’m composing a draft email to send back to him that I’m not actually going to send so here goes nothing

First, I do not use this e-mail anymore. Please use *insert the email i actually use*

“For some reason, not sure what, you believe that it is acceptable for you to simply try to talk over me while I’m talking to you.”

 The reason I was so upset was because I was under the impression that something I viewed as an accomplishment was being treated as a “side effect” of medication and it was not involving you although you had to hear it and I am sorry you did, I could have lowered my voice. Also, I was approached while I was by myself trying to do something else and clearly not in the correct mind set to talk about the issue as I did say when the conversation started. As much as I do not try and or want to talk over you or be disrespectful, it sometimes feels as though no matter what I say you have already made up your mind about the situation without having any knowledge about it.

” I’m writing to you so that you are aware of what I will not tolerate from you and how it will be handled”

This method of trying to communicate with me does not work. From the letter to now an e-mail, nothing was broken, damaged or even in question of being destroyed.

“If you continue to behave in the manner that you do, it will eventually lead to you being asked to leave”

It is very common for people to get upset when they are being accused of something that they did not do with no hard evidence that they did what they re being accused of. That might be defensive, but only because I know that what I was being accused of was not true.

“Consequences of your disrespectful rants”

I did try and stop the situation before it got out of hand as I was in the middle of doing something and I could have handled the situation better but I did not. Also, I don’t know why I continuously get punished for getting angry when I have maintained my grades to my self-standards which are high and make an effort to keep up with chores and help around the house. Both of these are things that you have expressed to me and I have made the effort.

I know there are several ways to prevent things like this from happening but I am not the only one who does not know how to handle situations correctly.
  *end of e-mail*
so please pray for me and hope that in the next two years I never get angry or feel any natural human emotion!

 

 

Leave a Reply

